Making good money from writing, It’s not possible… is it? Unless you are one of the lucky few… Or, If you believe the hype about copywriting, maybe it is!

Copywriting. What’s it all about? And is it really as fantastic as those websites say it is? Well, I had no idea up until recently myself! (And am still figuring it out..)

Yes, like most apisiring writers, I’ve signed up for all the different writing-related e-newsletters out there, from the mainstream Australian Writer’s Centre to the amazing teachings of Holly Lisle. And most, if not all of them, have spoken at one point or another, about the mysterious world of copywriting.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t believe the hype the first time I heard about it. I mean, it sounds too good to be true, doesn’t it? Get paid huge sums to write?!! They make it sound so easy, almost as though the course advertisements were written by amazing… dum da da dum copywriters! Haha.

I’ve always seen it heralded as some amazing, lucrative way to earn money through creative writing. That is, of course, while you simultaneously pursue your own true passions in whatever creative writing field you choose (like writing that long-winded fantasy novel) that keeps you poorer than the days before Christmas!

Copywriting, Moneybags? Quick cash? Or scam?
Money, money, money! …Money?

After weighing up the pros and cons and feeling pretty unsure about my career right now (plus being the naturally curious and eager-to-expand-my-repertoire kind of person I am) I decided to sign-up for the latest round of online classes for Copywriting Essentials with the Australian Writer’s Centre

After a first week in which I freaked out, and did a terribly bland (in my opinion, anyway) first assignment. I am now in the swing of things and thoroughly enjoying myself! It truly is a fun way to be creative in a structured environment. And though I’m not 100% sure if I will ever make the big bucks that these courses love to promise, I am confident it will improve my writing. And since I’ve already learnt so much, it feels worth it to me.

The thing that scared me though, when I first truly realized what copywriting is, is that there is a big part of it that is about selling and marketing. (Yes, I admit, that was pretty naive of me not to know that!) Something I’ve always felt pretty uncomfortable with. I mean, I don’t think I could sell a packet of tissues, priced at 5 cents, to a sniffly child’s mother outside a Big-W selling them for $8.50 a sheet in a flu epidemic! But I digress.

Point is, I’m learning something. I can’t expect to be perfect right away. Writing, like much of life, is a process. You’ll never wake up one day and think, “Nailed it! Don’t even need to worry about what I’m typing anymore, I put in random words and it always spits out pullitzer-prize-winning gold!” And learning not to be too tough on yourself is half the battle. Unless you’re J.K. Rowling, of course! I’m sure she could write about nazi-pandas coming together to teach Guatemalans the art of Japanese flute-tuning and still sell billions of copies.

At least that’s how it is for me, is it different for you? Your thoughts or comments would be much appreciated! Or you know, just tell me, what’d you eat for breakfast? And what games are you playing right now? SUPER addicted to Clash of Clans and Boom Beach at the mo!

2 thoughts on “Making good money from writing, It’s not possible… is it? Unless you are one of the lucky few… Or, If you believe the hype about copywriting, maybe it is!”

  1. Good to see you back at it!! I don’t really write, but I think in anything and everything we go through peaks and valleys. Time for your peak? I hope so. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

